Search
 
 

Display results as :
 

 


Rechercher Advanced Search

Keywords

Latest topics
» Filling out Card
Mon May 09, 2016 9:11 pm by Jerry-tennis

» USTA Officiating moving to Orlando
Fri Apr 08, 2016 12:09 pm by seniorgeek

» Call for officials
Fri Mar 18, 2016 11:39 am by seniorgeek

» USTA Officiating Online education launch
Fri Mar 18, 2016 11:32 am by seniorgeek

» Vision Science Research
Sun Mar 13, 2016 4:46 pm by cunningham3c

» Would you do chairs for this?
Mon Feb 15, 2016 9:04 pm by thompa

» 2016 rules book has arrived
Mon Feb 15, 2016 9:00 pm by thompa

» ITA Singles Match
Fri Feb 12, 2016 11:49 am by Burt

» Who Calls A Double Bounce
Tue Feb 09, 2016 12:36 pm by seniorgeek


Who Calls A Double Bounce

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Who Calls A Double Bounce

Post by levir on Mon Feb 08, 2016 5:02 pm

In a match, with a Roving Umpire watching, Player A hits a ball on two bounces BUT does not call it and the point continues with Player A winning the point. Player B asks the Rover if she saw the Double Bounce.  The Rover says yes, it was a Double Bounce but since Player B did not stop play immediately, Player A wins the point.  Is this a situation where the Rover can make the call?  Player B cannot make the call as it is Player A's responsibility.  Who should have won the point? Who's responsibility, outside of Player A, was it to make the call?

levir

Posts : 1
Join date : 2016-02-08

View user profile

Back to top Go down

double bounce

Post by seniorgeek on Mon Feb 08, 2016 5:29 pm

Player A wins the point. The official should have stopped play when she saw the double bounce. It is the responsibility of the player that makes the doubles bounce to call it herself as the code states.

Since the point was played until the end player A wins the point.

-My opinion -

seniorgeek

Posts : 14
Join date : 2016-02-01

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Who Calls A Double Bounce

Post by hmallett on Tue Feb 09, 2016 11:55 am

Player B wins the point.  It is the Roving Umpire's responsibility to call the 'Not Up'.
     Without an official, it is Player A's responsibility to call the 'Not Up'; and Player A would win the point.
     In this scenario, you stated that there was an official who saw the double bounce.  Therefore that official is responsible for calling it and Player B wins the point.

hmallett

Posts : 3
Join date : 2016-02-09

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Who Calls A Double Bounce

Post by seniorgeek on Tue Feb 09, 2016 12:36 pm

The official should have stopped play and called the double bounce. Since the official didn't stop play and player B didn't stop play either and let the point end, shouldn't player A get the point?

seniorgeek

Posts : 14
Join date : 2016-02-01

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Who Calls A Double Bounce

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum